Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop - Micro Residencies 2010

Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop’s Micro Residency programme was created to give artists time and space to develop their research and practice in an unpressurised environment which encourages experimentation.

The flexible nature of the programme allows participating artists to explore new ideas and processes outwith their normal practice; benefiting from Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop’s facilities, staff support, and encourages networking / peer critiques between themselves and Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop’s artists.

The Micro Residencies promote interdisciplinary practice and include events that enable the public to meet and talk with artists. The Artists’ Collective FOUND subsequently won a Scottish BAFTA in 2009.

“FOUND used the ESW micro-residency to develop and prototype ideas that would eventually become Cybraphon. It was ideal for trial and error work as ESW put no pressure on us to create a 'finished' article as such. It also gave FOUND our first studio proper and led to us taking up another studio space for a year with ESW.” Ziggy Campbell, FOUND

Each Micro Residency lasts one month. The selected artists will be given one of the ESW studios and access to ESW’s workshop equipment free of charge. A fee of £150 is awarded to successful applicants for production costs, and ESW will organise and promote a public event at the end of the residency.

Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop is currently inviting applications for 2010 for the months of April, September, October and November. For an application form e-mail admin@edinburghsculpture.org

Image: 'Binder Schmoog' Micro Residency Performance by Darren Farquhar, with Petra Pennington & Sonja Witts, March 09.
Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop

What: Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop - Micro Residencies 2010
Where: Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop, Edinburgh
When: April, September, October and November 2010
Further Details:
-Visit the Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop website
Contact: admin@edinburghsculpture.org
Deadline: Fri 5 Mar 2010